FAA

For those living and working abroad,
User avatar
Kerry R
Moderator
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:00 am
Location: Houston Texas
South Africa

FAA

#1

Postby Kerry R » Fri Mar 17, 2017 3:44 pm

Guys I need you're help and advise please. My husband has 8,000 flying hrs as instructor and PIC. We are having such a run around by the FAA, he has written all their exams here in the USA as well as flown 14 hrs in Florida. One FAA says he needs 20 hrs another says he needs to do it all over again as student, then PPL, then Com, then ATP. We at our wits end and now his SA license has expired and we are sitting with naff all. Today I am going to phone the FAA HQ Oklahoma. Nobody will give us anything in writing. No wonder there is a shortage of pilots.

Also forgot to mention he was born in the USA but because he lived in Africa for 44 years and talks with a South African accent, United have on there web site that you have to have lived in the country more then 5 years to be employed by them and other USA airlines are following suit.

He just went through a security clearance again to get his drone licence.

User avatar
Bell 407
Site Admin
Posts: 5374
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 10:35 am
Location: Johannesburg
South Africa

Re: FAA

#2

Postby Bell 407 » Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:09 pm

Kerry, sorry to hear about your predicament. As you say he has the numbers but just can not seem to get the documents. Maybe Raffles here could offer some insight or words of assistance :thinking:

User avatar
Kerry R
Moderator
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:00 am
Location: Houston Texas
South Africa

Re: FAA

#3

Postby Kerry R » Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:48 pm

We got hold of AOPA legal service and they gave us all the Gen, as you say has the hours, two ways we can do it find an international tester here in the USA that can renew the SA com, or find a willing PIC and DPE, 15 months of pure nightmare with these flying schools and FAA they know Naff all.

User avatar
Moertoe Pilut
2000 feet Poster
Posts: 2912
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:00 am
Location: In a cockpit....
Contact:
Netherlands

Re: FAA

#4

Postby Moertoe Pilut » Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:11 pm

He might have to do all the exams again, all the way up to ATPL. He'll need a valid license in order to fly the airplane, IE a PPL. Once you have that, just do a ATPL skills test and you're done. He's got all the hours, he just needs to be checked. A valid SACAA ATPL will get him an FAA PPL by the way. Check with your nearest FSDO what they need exactly from the SACAA.

User avatar
Raffles
Site Admin
Posts: 3553
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: Die K@K Plaas
Contact:
Burkina Faso

Re: FAA

#5

Postby Raffles » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:56 pm

Martin might well be right but what SA license does Gary hold?

BTW, Bingo's son has recently got his SA Comm license and Ag rating and has gone to the USA to a cropspraying job although I'm not sure exactly what visa he got. Bingo was a member here and was a Ag pilot himself.

User avatar
Kerry R
Moderator
Posts: 228
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:00 am
Location: Houston Texas
South Africa

Re: FAA

#6

Postby Kerry R » Tue Mar 21, 2017 4:17 am

FSDO says he need to do it all again, his done all the exams with FAA we got an appointment at another flight school Wednesday, it's all about the f.. $ his got 40 different ratings, that's why we looking for an international DPE, for SA as once he has a USA student license we screwed he looses all his ratings.

User avatar
Moertoe Pilut
2000 feet Poster
Posts: 2912
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 12:00 am
Location: In a cockpit....
Contact:
Netherlands

Re: FAA

#7

Postby Moertoe Pilut » Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:49 am

If he converts SACAA to FAA he will loose his "ratings" anyway.
Image


Return to “Expats”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests